Daily Archives: July 10, 2013

This Weekend: Remember Oscar

Standard
I urge everyone to go (take your kids, too) to see Fruitvale Station this weekend for opening weekend! As we are observing the attempts to gain justice for Trayvon Martin, we must also remember stories like Oscar’s that will hopefully inspire all of us to create change in this world.  Do not forget what happened New Year’s morning, 2009!

What You Know, Good?

Standard

Marvin Gaye "What's Going On" high res cover artGreat day, great people! As you know from my post on Monday; today, and this week, I am inspired my the one and only Marvin Gaye. He was so ahead of his time and his ‘What’s Going On’ album was so ahead of its time. This song, which is basically an average conversation between friends is moving and people are able to relate to it, and makes you think about the circumstances of the time.

If you have not been exposed to the album, in full, get a copy, ASAP! ;-) I’m sharing his wisdom from this album because, like any great wisdom and talent, it’s still relevant today.
Enjoy the video/track below!


Hey baby, what you know good?

I’m just gettin’ back, but you knew I would

War is hell, when will it end? When will people start gettin’ together again?

Are things really gettin’ better, like the newspaper said?

What else is new my friend, besides what I read?
Can’t find no work, can’t find no job, my friend

Money is tighter than it’s ever been

Say man, I just don’t understand what’s going on across this land

What’s happening brother? Yeah, what’s happening? What’s happening my man?
Are they still gettin’ down where we used to go and dance?

Will our ball club win the pennant, do you think, they have a chance?

And tell me friend, how in the world have you been?

Tell me, what’s out and I want to know what’s in;
What’s the deal man, What’s happening?

Tell me brother, What’s happening brother? What’s happening my man?
What’s been shaking up and down the line? I wanna know ’cause, I’m slightly behind the time…

 

-Marvin Gaye, ‘What’s Happenin’, Brother?”