For Those Who Self-Medicate…You Can Overcome It

Standard

Marvin Gaye "What's Going On" high res cover artToday is a day of greatness, folks! Well, as you know, I’m pulling my inspiration from Marvin Gaye’s ‘What’s Going On?” album all week. I’m including this song as inspiration because, somehow, his song from 1971 about the emotional and mental enslavement of self-medication seems somewhat inspirational, I would think, for others going through or who have been through the same thing to move past it..just as the song and album does. The way that Marvin could use his vocal talent to make the listener feel his soul and to actually understand the story that is told in his music is not only pure genius, but it is divine talent.

As Jim Ramstad once said: “It is time to end the discrimination against people who need treatment for chemical addiction. It is time for Congress to deal with our Nation’s number one public health problem.”

Enjoy the poetry of the lyrics and enjoy the clip below!

Flying high in the friendly sky
(Flying high) without ever leavin’ the ground, no
Rest of the folks are tired and weary
Oh Lord, and have laid their bodies down.
I go the place where danger awaits me
and it’s bound to forsake me.
So stupid minded...
I can’t help it
oh, so stupid minded.
But I go crazy when I can’t find it,
In the morning, I’ll be alright, my friend.
But soon the night will bring the pains,
The pain, the awful pain
Flying high in the friendly sky
Without ever leaving the ground
And I ain’t seen nothing but trouble baby
Nobody really understands, no no
And I go to the place where the good feelin’ awaits me
  Self-destruction in my hand
Oh Lord, so stupid minded
Oh and I go crazy when I can’t find it
Well I know I’m hooked my friend
To that boy out there hangin’, who makes slaves out of men.
And oh believe me
Flying high in the friendly sky
 flyin’ high…

-Marvin Gaye, ‘Flying High (In the Friendly Sky)’

Leave a Reply

