Being a Mother is Bearing Witness to Life

Standard

Mothers-love-their-children-animals-20186514-619-480“Was it the act of giving birth that made you a mother? Did you lose that label when you relinquished your child? If people were measured by their deeds, on the one hand, I had a woman who had chosen to give me up; on the other, I had a woman who’d sat up with me at night when I was sick as a child, who’d cried with me over boyfriends, who’d clapped fiercely at my law school graduation. Which acts made you more of a mother?

Both, I realized. Being a parent wasn’t just about bearing a child. It was about bearing witness to its life.”
― Jodi Picoult, ‘Handle With Care’

 

Leave a Reply

