The Concept of Money

Standard

Great Day all. This may go over some people’s heads, but I thought to share this as my Soul Food for today because everytime I hear it (audio link at the bottom) I have a different perception of the song and of money and the obligations we place on ourselves over money, self perception and also over our lack of responsibility for the greater good… (example: “I aint rich til he is rich til she is rich til we is rich…”). So, today’s Soul Food isn’t religious or maybe even spiritual in any way, just something to get you thinking about the CONCEPT of money and happiness (example: “I’m feeling sad and blue, like a million bucks!”) Enjoy!

true poverty
I’m a millionaire but I feel like a bum
I’m a millionaire but I feel like the only one
I woke up early this morning
I don’t think y’all heard me
I woke up early this morning
I don’t think y’all heard me
I woke up early this morning, but I still ain’t see the sun

Papa I’m a millionaire, but Saks Fifth Ave. don’t sell affection
(Saks Fifth Ave. don’t sell affection)
Papa I’m a millionaire, but I ain’t moving in the right direction
Something ain’t right, I know

I ain’t rich ’til he is rich and she is rich, then we is rich
I ain’t rich ’til he is rich and she is rich, and we is rich,

Where there is cheese there are rats
Where ever there are rats there are cats
Where ever there are cats there are dogs
If you got the dogs, you got bitches
Bitches always out to put their paws on your riches
If you got riches, you got glitches
If you got glitches in your life computer, turn it off
And then reboot it, now you back on
Can’t just put the cap on the old bottle once you pop it, that will spoil it
Go on and drink it and enjoy it

What’s a girl to do when she has dimes no time just play
What’s a girl to do instead of me it’s you’ll be true
What’s a girl to do in a world of greed but kneel and pray
What’s a girl to do when she’s lost her long time friends, that’s life

I’m feelin’ sad and blue (like a million bucks)

Millionaire by Kelis, featuring Andre 3000 and Slick Rick

Leave a Reply

